Revista de la
Unión Matemática Argentina

Best Paper Prize – Revista de la Unión Matemática Argentina

A yearly Best Paper Prize for the articles published by Revista de la Unión Matemática Argentina has been established to recognize the authors of papers deemed worthy of particular attention because of their mathematical quality.

A jury integrated by the Editor-in-chief of Revista de la Unión Matemática Argentina and three other members appointed by the UMA Board of Directors, will select the winner among the articles published in a volume of the journal in the previous two years, and that have not previously received this award. Every year at least one member of the jury will be changed.

The amount of the award will be equivalent to 40 (forty) times the UMA's annual membership fee, to be shared equally among all the authors of the article. The award will be publicly announced and bestowed every year during the UMA annual meeting, where one of the authors of the article will be invited to give a Prize Lecture.

First award: 2020

The first Best Paper Prize was awarded on September 21, 2020 to Aníbal Chicco-Ruiz, Pedro Morin, and M. Sebastian Pauletti (all of them from Departamento de Matemática, Facultad de Ingeniería Química, Universidad Nacional del Litoral and CONICET, Argentina), for their paper The shape derivative of the Gauss curvature, published in vol. 59, no. 2 (2018), pp. 311–337.

The members of the jury were Alicia Dickenstein (Univ. de Buenos Aires, editor-in-chief of Revista de la UMA), Marisa Gutiérrez (Univ. Nac. de La Plata), Jorge Lauret (Univ. Nac. de Córdoba), and Gladis Pradolini (Univ. Nac. del Litoral).

The following video shows the announcement of the winners, made by Alicia Dickenstein at the inaugural session of the 2020 Annual Meeting of the Unión Matemática Argentina, September 21, 2020 (in Spanish):

On September 24 the authors gave a lecture based on the paper (in Spanish):

Revista de la Unión Matemática Argentina is a diamond open access journal, free of charge for both authors and readers, publishing peer-reviewed original research articles in all areas of pure and applied mathematics since 1936.